Confidence Beyond the Skin-I Am Pregnant and My Skin is a Mess!

Sara pregnantOkay you caught me, I am not pregnant…but my sister is! Here is a photo of me and her, along with our mother, at her baby shower in Maine 2 weeks ago. Babies bring joy to many people, but the 9 months of pregnancy can take a toll on your skin.
Some of the most common skin complaints during pregnancy are related to pressure that is placed on the circulatory system. Small red smooth dots called angiomas are commonly seen as a result during pregnancy. They can occur anywhere on the body. These are benign blood vessels that dilate on the skin surface. It is very quick and easy to treat these angiomas in a dermatology office with a simple procedure using an electrocaudery tool. After the treatment, they will form a small scab and fall off within a week or so. Varicose veins are another common complaint during pregnancy. Typically these small red/blue veins form on the legs towards the end of the pregnancy. Don’t worry, we can treat these with quick and simple injections of a sclerosing agent in the office. After the injections, the veins look like a little bit like a bruise, but that goes away in a few weeks and after 2-3 sessions, you will barely see those pesky veins.
Stretch marks are probably the number one skin complaint related to pregnancy. Stretch marks can form on the abdomen, hips and thighs. Stretch marks are a result of genetics and the skin stretching during pregnancy. Despite what everyone will tell you, there is no way to prevent them if you are genetically predisposed to them. The good news is that there are new lasers on the market that can significantly improve stretch marks. This procedure is performed in a series of treatments and while it won’t erase the stretch mark 100%, it will significantly reduce the appearance of the stretch mark. The Palomar Icon 1540 is my favorite!
For those of you who feel like you need more of a surgical “nip and tuck” to help regain your pre-baby body, I had the opportunity to meet a phenomenal “mommy makeover” surgeon, Shankar Lakshman MD, in Pasadena. His before and after photo album was amazing!
Take the time to enjoy your pregnancy, cherish that bundle of joy, and don’t worry about your skin. It the end, it will all be worth it! I can’t wait to meet my new niece or nephew next month in Maine!

I am always looking for new blog topics or interesting products. Send your ideas to kasey.drapeaudamato@gmail.com

I have been asked if I receive any financial incentive to mention products in my newsletter/blog and the answer is no. I only comment on products that I have used myself or that I recommend to patients because they have unique benefits. However, I do occasionally sit on some advisory panels for pharmaceutical companies and I am co-founder of Airelle Skin.

Leave a Reply

