Confidence Beyond the Skin-Are you Getting Enough Vitamin D this Summer?

This is a controversial topic these days. Many people, including myself,  are finding out that they are vitamin D deficient. Because of the increased attention to vitamin D  deficiency, Vitamin D supplement sales have increased 82% from 2008-2009.

 Vitamin D can help strengthen and protect your bones, prevent diabetes, autoimmune disorders, depression, heart disease and some types of cancers. The Institute of Medicine is recommending a level of 20 ng/ml in your blood which can be achieved by a daily intake of 600 IU daily. The FDA recommends 400 IU daily. If you are deficient, your physician may recommend additional dietary supplements of 1000-2000 IU/day. Make sure to have your doctor monitor your levels because too much Vit D can also lead to health problems.

Many people ask me if they should get their vitamin D by exposing themselves to sunlight. It is true that short exposures of sunlight can convert to Vitamin D in your body, but I do not recommend getting Vitamin D from sun exposure because of the risk of skin cancer.

The Skin Cancer Foundation advises that you get your Vitamin D from oily fish, fortified dairy products, cereals, and supplements.

So, this 4th of July continue with your normal sun precautions to protect your skin and get your vitamin D by throwing a nice piece of salmon on the grill with a side of portabella or shiitake mushrooms. Yum! 

I am  looking forward to small town parades and a lot of lobster this week while I  visit my family in Maine for the holiday!  I hope you have a happy and safe 4th of July!

References:

1.Skelsey, Maral. Vitamin D:Getting the Message right. The Skin Cancer Foundation Journal.Vol xxx 2012. p. 44

2.http://www.livestrong.com/article/84959-fda-recommended-vitamin-dosages

Check out the beauty corner of the main newsletter/blog page where I will highlight a different beauty product every month! www.kaseydrapeaudamatopac.wordpress.com

I am always looking for new blog topics or interesting products. Send your ideas to kasey.drapeaudamato@gmail.com.

I have been asked if I receive any financial incentive to mention products in my newsletter/blog and the answer is no. I only comment on products that I have used myself or that I recommend to patients because they have unique benefits. However, I am a clinical trainer for both Medicis (Dysport/Restylane) and Allergan (Botox/Juvederm).

For my fellow tech-y followers, I have started daily skin and lifestyle tweets on Twitter! To stay up to date on the latest, you can follow me @kaseydamatopac . For those Facebook fanatics out there, I have also created a FB fan page! Go ahead and “like” the page to stay up to date on the latest in skin care! http://www.facebook.com/KaseyDrapeauDamato

2 thoughts on “Confidence Beyond the Skin-Are you Getting Enough Vitamin D this Summer?”

  1. Hi Kasey,
    I have been reading various articles suggesting that we take much larger doses of Vit. B that those that you mention. I know those are the new standards. Do you know if you can take too much? Would it be damaging in some other way?
    Thanks,
    Cheryl

    1. You should check with your primary care provider for their recommendations for Vit D for you. It can be dangerous to have too much, so this is not a case of a little is good, a lot is better. The message I want to share is that Vit D diet supplements are going to be a safer way to get Vit D than sun exposure. I am looking for Vit D rich foods all the time now! Let me know if you find any good recipes!

Leave a Reply

