Confidence Beyond the Skin-New Sunscreen Guidelines for 2012

With the 4th of July holiday just around the corner, we will all be reaching for sunscreen when enjoying long summer days near the water or in the backyard. The FDA has some new sunscreen guidelines that will appear on sunscreen labels later this year.

It is important to look for a broad spectrum sunscreen that protects against UVA and UVB. Most of the harmful rays are from UVB, but it is important to protect yourself from all ultraviolet light radiation. The FDA does not see a benefit from using a SPF over 50, and I typically recommend SPF of 30 or higher. The FDA recommends using 2 oz of sunscreen for your entire body, and reapplying frequently when outdoors. The new sunscreen labels will indicate if a sunscreen is water resistant. It will also give you a time guideline so you will know when to  reapply if you are swimming or sweating. Remember to hold your breath when applying a spray sunscreen to your body, and do not spray directly on your face. Check out this fantastic video from the FDA that highlights the new sunscreen regulations.

I like Neutrogena dry touch liquid sunscreen, along with La Roche Possay Anthelios which are both available at most drugstores. There is a nice new sunscreen for sensitive skin called Cereve AM which is also available over the counter.  If you want to combine sunscreen, moisturizer and a slight tint, Revision tinted moisturizer is great. It is only sold in physician offices.  Neutrogena and Clinique both have sunscreen in much of their make-up line. Neutrogena skin clearing makeup is perfect for acne prone skin.

If you are like me, you will spend a lot of time outdoors and enjoying nature this summer.  I found a couple of very cute hats, sun protective beach cover-ups, and will wear my sunscreen proudly. Even though I am in the Dermatology field, life is too short to stay indoors!

I am always looking for new blog topics or interesting products. Send your ideas to kasey.drapeaudamato@gmail.com.

I have been asked if I receive any financial incentive to mention products in my newsletter/blog and the answer is no. I only comment on products that I have used myself or that I recommend to patients because they have unique benefits. However, I am a clinical trainer for both Medicis (Dysport/Restylane) and Allergan (Botox/Juvederm).

For my fellow tech-y followers, I have started daily skin and lifestyle tweets on Twitter! To stay up to date on the latest, you can follow me @kaseydamatopac . For those Facebook fanatics out there, I have also created a FB fan page! Go ahead and “like” the page to stay up to date on the latest in skin care! http://www.facebook.com/KaseyDrapeauDamato

Leave a Reply

